Short-Term Rentals

  1. Feedback

City Hall

144 Tichenor Ave, Suite 1

  1. Email:
  2. Phone: (334) 501-7260
  3. Hours:  M-F: 8AM-5PM

James C. Buston, III

City Manager

  1. Phone: (334) 501-7261
  2. Email:

In November 2018, Mayor Ron Anders appointed Ward 4 Councilperson Brett Smith, Ward 6 Councilperson Bob Parsons and Planning Commission members Robert Ritenbaugh and Marcus Marshall to the Short-Term Rentals Task Force. As short-term rentals become more popular and prevalent in Auburn, the task force is working with residents and stakeholders to move forward with creating regulations for short-term rentals in the Auburn City limits.

The task force consists of Mayor Ron Anders, Councilperson Brett Smith, Councilperson Bob Parsons, Marcus Marshall, Bob Ritenbaugh, Anna Solomon, Evan Crawford and Bruno O. Ulrich.

Proposed Regulations

From December 13, 2018 and throughout January 2019, a public comment period was held to receive input on a draft ordinance prepared by the Auburn Planning Department. Based on that and other public input, a new draft update to the City Code was prepared by the Auburn Planning Department. The Short-Term Rental Task Force sought additional input on an updated draft throughout April 2019. The following presentation from a January 14, 2020 Planning Commission work session reflects the most recent draft and a map proposal showing areas in which short-term non-primary rentals would be permitted in the City:


All input has been provided to the Short-Term Rental Task Force and will be available below.

  • Aug. 14, 2019 Workshop Meeting:

Meeting Presentations